E. Screening and assessment for Intellectual Disability

Intellectual disability is characterized by 3 main signs:

​​- Limitation in intellectual functioning
- Limitation in adaptive behaviors in different environments
- The onset of the difficulties in early childhood

Your child will be assessed by a child psychologist to determine if they have an Intellectual disability. The child’s medical history, family history, educational history will be taken, and a psychiatric interview will be done. The child’s intelligence will be assessed using standardized IQ tests and the social adaptiveness of the child will be assessed using a standardized social adaptiveness scale. A physical and neurological exam will be conducted in order to reach a diagnosis.

Intellectual Disability is usually diagnosed in childhood, marked by delays in motor and language milestones. Some mild cases are diagnosed later in school when the child exhibits academic difficulties.